Colorado law (Board of Health rule 6 CCR 1009-2) requires all students attending Colorado schools and licensed child cares to be vaccinated against certain diseases, unless an exemption is filed. The minimum number and spacing of doses is set forth in the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedules. Meeting the initial vaccine requirements does not excuse a student from meeting additional requirements. In addition to the vaccines required for school entry, there are several vaccines recommended by the ACIP that provide protection against other diseases. These include Meningococcal, Hepatitis A, Rotavirus, Human papillomavirus and Influenza.Below are the vaccines required for students attending Colorado licensed child cares and schools. More information is available here: Child Care | School
Vaccines required to enter child care:
Vaccines required to enter school (K-12)"
- Hepatitis B
- Diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis (DTap)
- Haemophilus influenza type b (Hib)
- Inactivated poliovirus (IPV)
- Pneumococcal conjugate (PCV13) or polysaccharide (PPSV23)
- Measles, mumps, rubella (MMR)
- Varicella (chicken pox)
*Students 4 through 6 years of age are required to have their final doses of DTaP, IPV, MMR and Varicella prior to kindergarten entry.**Students are required to have Tdap prior to entry into 6th grade. One dose of Tdap is required for 6th through 12th grades.
- Hepatitis B
- Diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis (DTap)*
- Inactivated poliovirus (IPV)*
- Measles, mumps, rubella (MMR)*
- Varicella (chicken pox)*
- Tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis (Tdap)**
Under Colorado law a student may be exempted from immunizations if they have submitted a signed medical, religious or personal exemption.Immunization information for parents (the CDE education module includes information for parents and families about vaccines and vaccine-preventable diseases.Colorado law requires all students attending Colorado schools and licensed child cares to be vaccinated against certain diseases unless a medical or non-medical exemption is filed. Beginning July 1, 2016, non-medical exemptions must be submitted more often. (Colorado Board of Health rule 6 CCR 1009-2). You must file an exemption for each school or child care the student attends. For the safety of unvaccinated children, students with an exemption from one or more required vaccines may be kept out of a school or child care during a disease outbreak.Medical exemptions
- Medical exemptions can be claimed by submitting a form to us for inclusion in the Colorado Immunization Information System (immunization registry) or by submitting the form directly to your child’s school or child care. Check with your child's school or child care to determine whether it requires a paper copy of the exemption form.
Immunization: Medical Exemption Form (English)
Immunization: Medical Form (Spanish)
Non-medical (personal belief or religious) exemptions
Students in grades K-12 claiming a non-medical exemption must submit one annually. These exemptions expire June 30 each year.
Parents of students in preschool or child care must submit non-medical exemptions at 2, 4, 6, 12 and 18 months of age. These exemptions expire when the next vaccines are due or when the child enrolls in kindergarten.
There are multiple options for submitting a non-medical exemption.
Submit our downloadable form (see below) directly to your student’s school or child care.
Submit our downloadable form directly to us (see below).
To Submit forms to CDE (optional):Confidential Fax:(303) 758-3640Attn: Vaccine ExemptionMail:
Colorado Immunization BranchAttn: Vaccine Exemption4300 Cherry Creek Drive SouthDenver, CO 80246